top of page
  • Writer's pictureErin James

Collaborative 'Found Poem': "Discombobulating in the best way"

Found poem: Found poems take existing texts and refashion them, reorder them, and present them as poems. The literary equivalent of a collage, found poetry is often made from newspaper articles, street signs, graffiti, speeches, letters, or even other poems.*1


This found poem was the result of a zine workshop I hosted independently during my research fellowship, with Brighton CCA. I invited 7 of 10 participants of the workshop to give me one word to describe their experience of the workshop. I also contributed my own word, Discombobulating, to start things off and encourage the group. The words that were collected were written down, and I then wrote a poem around these words.


Listen to the poem here:


See the poem here:


Scroll down past the image to see the poem written down in text



Discombobulating in the best way

Meditative, mindful permission to play

Colourful creations, revolutionary celebrations

Serine swimming in paper & projects

Fulfilling a tranquil moment during a busy day

Stimulating brain, decreasing pain

Relaxing and unstrained, although anxiety remained

Refreshing all the same.......


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page